Miss. Understood

In Sparkles of rainbow, we met. Our best conversations were the ones the bird sang to us. Your shadow was the best friend mine had. Our jokes came best when we quarreled.
But then.
It changed or rather, I received sight from the once blind eyes that never saw. You withdrew from me and called it space. You became rude and called it Maturity. You became proud of the very thing I helped you build and you called it Confidence. Now, I’m left all alone with my thoughts
Wondering….
Where the lost puzzle piece was? How can I be in love so deeply with someone so vain? Happiness took the form of my shadow. Silence became my conversation. Loneliness turned besties with me. We were done! It was over!

Years passed and it still felt like days, so very fresh in my head and heart but I made a decision to finally Let go. And just after I took my first fresh air of life, we met. This time, there was another “She” standing closely knitted to Him.

“That should have been me” I thought.

Anger welled in my already broken body.
I stopped to study this “She” that took my life away. I noticed how intimate they talked, how care free they laughed. It was all pure!!! Then I realised I failed more with him than the success I clung unto. There was more besides the love I gave. The ‘more’ I failed to recognize.
His space needed my maturity. His maturity needed my patience and care. His confidence needed my attention and guts.

Now I knew better.
It had to take me seeing these couple to realize that. But it’s too late. They were the perfect duo. I now grew wishes on a fruitless tree of hope.
Now I know, it was nothing about Him and everything about me. In envy I admired them. It was at that spot that I made a firm decision to Let go.

Like a flash of light, everything changed. My face sparkled. My heart came alive. My smile radiated like the morning sun. My eyes were whispering the look of a beginning I never had but would soon experience.

“What’s happening with you” He noticed.

I gave him a long stare of wonder and realised how stuck and on a spot I’ve been for a person that had moved on.

“Change of perspective happened” I replied with a bold smile and walked out…from his life and from my past broken self. I knew he knew that I just gained a whole new level of maturity, confidence and self love.

Never ever would I misunderstand a person while trying to be the Miss. Understood. Now I knew what the lost puzzle piece was…I Misunderstood.

One thought on “Miss. Understood

Leave a comment